Choose Another Market:  
Back to Current News

Print this article

Deadline for Nicholl Fellowships is May 1st
(released 4/4/2012)

Writers have until May 1, 2012 to enter the Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting.  This is the 27th annual program of The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences that was "established to identify and encourage talented new screenwriters."

The qualifications to submit your script are simple.
  • Screenwriters who have not earned more than $5,000 writing fictional work for film or television.
  • Entry scripts must be the original work of one writer, or of two writers who collaborated equally, and must be written originally in English. Adaptations and translated scripts are not eligible.
Several past Nicholl Fellows have gone on to successful film writing careers, including Mike Rich (Radio, The Rookie, Finding Forrester), Ehren Kruger (Arlington Road, The Ring), Susannah Grant (Erin Brockovich, Ever After) and Andrew Marlow (Air Force One, Hollow Man, End of Days).

Application information is available now on the Academy's website at

digg this article Digg this article!     Green Room Chicago News Feed Subscribe